Wagon 13

Wagon Boss: Beverly Wilson Smith
Assistant Wagon Boss: Joe & Peggy Bennett;
waving from Wagon 13
President: Chris Miller

Mule Skinner:
Kelly Boesen


The Desperado wagon has been on the Salt Grass Trail Ride for more than 30 years.  The Desperados have welcomed distinguished riders including Welcome Wilson, chairman of the board of regents for the University of Houston, former Houston Chief of Police Harry Caldwell and “The Virginian”, James Drury.  Gary Smith is driving the buggy with other distinguished guests.
The Desperados have won many awards over the years, including Best Appearing Wagon for the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo downtown parade in 1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2010; and Best Show Wagon in 1995, 1997, 2003, and 2008.  Desperados won Best Wagon on the Salt Grass Trail Ride in 1981, 1984 & 1986, and 2nd Place in 1985.  In 1985, Archie “Pa” Bennett, Sr. was awarded the Oldest Male Rider for the Salt Grass Trail.